The Sixth Judicial Administrative District (JAD) is one of ten such districts created by the Judicial Administration Act of 1976 to provide regional court administration to the superior courts of Georgia (O.C.G.A. § 15-5-2).

Created along congressional district lines, the JAD’s have primarily retained their original boundaries through subsequent congressional district changes. The Sixth JAD consists of 14 counties divided into five judicial circuits. The 23 active and 10 senior (retired) judges in the JAD make up the District Council of Superior Court Judges, which governs district court administration. Every two years, the Council elects one of its members as an Administrative Judge, who directs district activities and supervises its staff.

The Superior Court is Georgia’s general jurisdiction trial court. It has exclusive, constitutional authority over felony cases, divorce, equity and cases regarding title to land. The exclusive jurisdiction of this court also covers such matters as declaratory judgments, habeas corpus, mandamus, quo warranto and prohibition. The Superior Court corrects errors made by lower courts by issuing writs of certiorari; for some lower courts, the right to direct review by the Superior Court applies.

The 6th Judicial Administrative District’s responsibilities include:

  • Budgeting and managing finances for all five judicial circuits
  • Provide support to the Administrative Judge and the Accountability Courts
  • Serve as the liaison between the local governments and the courts
  • Oversee public relations for the judges
  • Establish and maintain the technological infrastructure for the five judicial districts.

6th JAD Map